Happy Colon

Gut Feelings

Happy Colon Part II

DSC01592

I’ve been wanting to continue writing in my blog. I really enjoy it, and there is more healing to write about. Plus, I wrote so much about being sick that I want to showcase my healthy, post-megaflare life. It’s time for Part II of this blog.

I’m not sure of everything I’ll write about. Definitely there will be recipes, and health updates as I try to decrease prednisone and add new foods into my diet. I also want to look beyond the physical side of colitis. The digestive system is irrefutably at least partly related to one’s personality. Stress and anxiety are known to play a role in gastrointestinal disorders, and then there are “gut feelings.” These concepts have become more and more fascinating to me.

I want to think and write about the interconnectedness between everything – my digestive system, the rest of my physical health, my mind, and my gut feelings, as well as my interaction with others, my surroundings, nature, and the universe. (I’m reading Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance right now…what the what?! It’s really enlightening.)

The title of my blog works amazingly well for Part II. Happy Colon. Happy? check. Colon? still got it. But it’s time to change the tagline of my blog – “A blog about living with ulcerative colitis and healing a flare using integrative medicine.” While I am still living with ulcerative colitis and still healing and using integrative medicine, this isn’t the focus of my life as it was before. So I’m changing it to “Gut Feelings.” “The Gut Life” was another idea (gut = good in German), but it’s not the vibe I want for this blog.

^See, that’s what I’m talking about: that vibe. “The Gut Life” is a great tagline and is funny and clever (if I may say so), so I’m tempted to make it the tagline, but I’m just not feeling it. So I’m recognizing and respecting my vague hesitance. Maybe I’ll get to use it at another, better time. Plus, “Gut Feelings” can encompass the posts from when I was sick, and “The Gut Life” really could not, in the “good life” sense of the term. Did my gut realize this, and perhaps more reasons, before my mind did? Or are gut feelings not about predicting individual things ahead of the mind, but rather just knowing the final answer due to the composite of all of the reasons? Is that what I meant when I said “vibe”?

That’s what I want to explore.

Time to eat chicken.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 16, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

