Happy Colon

Gut Feelings

The Wonders of the Coconut

Are you aware of the wonders of the coconut? They can be found in coconut milk, coconut oil, coconut water, and coconut meat. I never really liked the taste of coconut, and still don’t love it, but I am whole-heartedly welcoming coconut milk and oil into my diet nevertheless, because beyond the fact that their flavor gets drowned out a bit amid other flavors, their culinary uses and health benefits are too good to pass up.

I made a soup that is my new staple meal, and it wouldn’t be the best soup I’ve ever made if not for the coconut milk. It adds a creaminess that I haven’t been able to have for a long time, plus the flavor is balanced out well by the other ingredients (I’ll post the recipe soon). The milk also gives me much-needed calories, and because the soup is so delicious, I eat a lot of it!

As a treat for my birthday, I bought a pint of organic, dark chocolate-flavored, coconut milk-based ice cream from Coconut Bliss and have been enjoying a tiny bit every day since then. The only ingredients in it are coconut milk, agave syrup, vanilla extract, and cocoa. Now I’m inspired to make my own ice cream…

Then there is coconut oil…check out this paragraph from the Coconut Research Center:

Coconut is highly nutritious and rich in fiber, vitamins, and minerals. It is classified as a “functional food” because it provides many health benefits beyond its nutritional content. Coconut oil is of special interest because it possesses healing properties far beyond that of any other dietary oil and is extensively used in traditional medicine among Asian and Pacific populations. Pacific Islanders consider coconut oil to be the cure for all illness. The coconut palm is so highly valued by them as both a source of food and medicine that it is called “The Tree of Life.”

I don’t expect coconut oil to be a cure-all for me, but it is at least very health-supporting. It is anti-bacterial, anti-viral, and anti-fungal, it promotes a healthy heart, thyroid, and immune system, and there are so many other benefits. See a list of 10 of them here.  I could use coconut oil instead of butter on my millet toast (I found millet bread!!), drop a spoonful into my soup or rice as it’s being cooked, or even have a spoonful it by itself as a sort of medicine. It can also be used on skin or in hair as a moisturizer. Tonight I put some on my face, and it feels so silky smooth now!

The millet bread I found, by the way, is by DeLand Bakery, and it is by far the best gluten-free bread I’ve ever had. And not only that, but it has just a few necessary ingredients (which I can have), rather than the ridiculous list of ingredients in most gluten-free breads.

I think I will have some toast right now! Look at meeee.

2 comments on “The Wonders of the Coconut

  1. Ben
    February 26, 2013

    Makes me want to try millet bread!!

  2. Barbie Walsh
    April 11, 2013

    hi roxanne – is your kale chips recipe on your blog – couldnt find it – bought some kale and wanted to try its

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 24, 2013 by in IBD Resources and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

