Happy Colon

Gut Feelings

Feb 5 Update

From “Life of Pi”

I started 6MP at 25 mg on January 7th and was able to increase the dose to 50 mg on the 29th, a week ago.

Since starting 6MP, my symptoms have been shifting around in weird ways. Overall, I’ve improved, but the progress hasn’t been steady. January started with me in some pain and very symptomatic all the time and on a liquid diet, as I said in my last post. I then started to feel/do better in general, but was still very symptomatic. Then I began to use the bathroom 5-6 times during the night, but was practically symptom-free during the day. I actually felt well enough to go to the movies with friends on the 26th during this window. (We saw Life of Pi.) Then I began to use the bathroom during the day and more often at night, waking up every 1-1.5 hours, which has made the past week very blah. The last two nights, however, I’ve woken up  less, and my days have been better, and all of my various symptoms have calmed down a bit. I hope that things will continue this way! It feels like they will.

I had a good appointment with my functional doctor yesterday. In the past, he said that I shouldn’t taper on prednisone until the inflammation is gone, but I told him that my GI doctor really wants me to taper and I feel caught in the middle of these opposite recommendations, and he said I could try decreasing by a half milligram every month. I’m so happy to make even such a small change in the dose! With long term use of prednisone, there is a risk of it affecting your bones, and sure enough, a bone density test I had done near the end of December showed that I have osteopenia.

We also talked about food. I’ve been on my herbalist’s diet of gluten-free grains, chicken, eggs, and a few fruits for over a year now, and it is getting to be unbearable! I need more variety! I told Dr. B this, and he said, “You know, I was thinking that you could use a greater variety of animal protein, like lamb, beef, pork.” This is not food I was looking for. I forget what face I made or what I said exactly, but it elicited this response from him: “Okay, what would you like to add in?” I told him that I would love to have vegetables. He agreed that maybe I could add in some root vegetables and winter squashes, and he suggested coconut milk for calories and flavor. So he is going to email my herbalist to discuss and I’m waiting to hear what they agree on. This would be the best birthday present.

My birthday is tomorrow! I’m turning 23. I don’t have plans, but I’m so relieved to have been feeling better these last two days, and if I feel well on my birthday and can have some vegetables with the consent of my functional doctor and herbalist, I couldn’t be happier!

4 comments on “Feb 5 Update

  1. John Meuse
    February 5, 2013

    Forget the winter squash. Try turnips. Or am I the only one that likes turnips. Must be the Canadian in me.

  2. bodhisattvaintraining
    February 6, 2013

    Hi, this is the first post of yours I’m reading so please excuse me if this isn’t appropriate for your diet – my daughter has UC (recently diagnosed) and she manages (and loves) carrots well cooked…

  3. sweetsandrelief
    February 6, 2013

    When I am flaring, steamed carrots and cooked sweet potato are my best friends. Good luck and happy birthday!

  4. Erica
    February 6, 2013

    I bet you made the best face responding to beef :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 5, 2013 by in Health/Life Update and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

