Happy Colon

Gut Feelings

Squiche

Butternut squash quiche…squash quiche…Squiche! (I swear I made this up, but just googled it and it already exists. bummer.)

Squiche

Squiche

My mom wanted some quiches for a Christmas party we’re having, and I offered to help. She’s busy, and I’ve been feeling well and have mainly just been watching television, plus I like getting creative with food, even when it’s not something I can eat. But then I thought about how quiche is something I could modify for my diet, and I started to brainstorm how to go about it. So I planned to make two quiches, one which would be Greek-style, with dill, spinach, and feta as the star players (and of course a crust and heavy cream), and the other which would be legal for me.

I did find many crustless quiche recipes online, plus some crusts made from potatoes, and I originally toyed with the idea of a sweet potato crust but ended up deciding against it, because it would either be not cooked enough for my tummy or too soft to be a crust. And dairy-free quiche recipes tend to have versions of milk (almond, soy, etc) which all have added ingredients, plus soy milk doesn’t sit well with me, and I’m slightly allergic to almonds. Some also call for cheese substitutes, which I don’t recognize as an ingredient. I’m not against veganism at all, but people shouldn’t mess with cheese. So I decided to use the very versatile butternut squash to bulk up the quiche a bit.

I find that I can’t eat most dairy-free, gluten-free recipes out there, no matter what the recipe is for. The substitutes can be as bad as the original ingredients! Anyways, here is the final recipe for my squiche:

Squiche

Ingredients

  • 7 egg whites
  • 2 whole eggs
  • 2 cups cooked butternut squash
  • 1 cup spinach (I used frozen but would recommend fresh)
  • 4-5 scallions (this would have been tasteless without the scallions)
  • 1 inch of ginger (I used less and couldn’t taste it at all)
  • Garlic (I didn’t use it but should have)
  • Salt

Directions

Mince the ginger and garlic, and chop the scallions. Beat the egg whites and eggs. Mix everything together and put in a pie pan. (I used a pretty big pan…I think 9-inches, and with steeper sides than a regular pie pan. You could use any size/shape but might need to use a bit less of the ingredients.) Bake in the oven at 350° for about an hour. (Because there was a lot of moisture from the frozen spinach, I kept it in for more like and hour and 15 minutes or longer.) Next time I will probably set the oven to 375° to speed it up a bit.

2 comments on “Squiche

  1. espirational
    December 8, 2012

    I like the “squiche” idea. I’ve been experimenting with ways to use veggies to replace dairy lately. Butternut squash puree makes the base for a nice “cream sauce” without cream or milk.

  2. Barbie Walsh
    December 13, 2012

    One more comment, don’t put it to 375. I tried it and it dried it out too much
    I am going to try it again – it’s my contribution to the Christmas dinner at Saceys.. Can’t wait to see what people think.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 7, 2012 by in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

