Happy Colon

Gut Feelings

Cranberry-Apple Sauce

Cranberry sauce is usually loaded with sugar to sweeten out the sourness of the cranberries. Sugar-free versions call for either fake sugar or agave syrup or other ingredients I wouldn’t want too much of. So, for my cranberry sauce, I called upon the natural sweetening power of apples and dates. And it actually turned out a bit sweeter than I wanted! Still, not too sweet though.

It also turned out to be all one texture since I cooked it long enough and mashed up the cranberries enough, and I peeled the apples and strained out the skins of the dates. I like it this way, and for me, the less ruffage the better, but you could peel, mash, and cook as you wish to get the texture you want.

The ruffage I strained out

The ruffage I strained out

The finished product

The finished product

Cranberry-Apple Sauce

Ingredients

  • 3 cups fresh cranberries, stems removed
  • 2 apples (I used Macs since that’s what we had)
  • 1 cup dried dates (I will probably use just a half cup next time to reduce the sweetness)
  • Water (I didn’t measure, but there was enough to steam the fruits but not so much that the sauce would be watery. Maybe there was about a cup? Probably more? I’ll measure next time!)

Directions

Skin the apples, and chop them into big pieces. Put the pieces (core removed) with the cranberries and dates into a large saucepan. Add water and bring to a boil. Once boiling, simmer until you see fit. I may have simmered for an hour-ish, but I was trying to soften everything as much as possible.

Eat With…

Put this on top of chicken, and eat with millet cooked with oregano. The cranberry sauce with the oregano is incredible! This is my new favorite variation of my foods.

One comment on “Cranberry-Apple Sauce

  1. Barbie Walsh
    December 5, 2012

    You must start your own cookbook. I have a wonderful site, it’s called
    Tastebook.com I think I will make this for Christmas at Staceys.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 4, 2012 by in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

