Happy Colon

Gut Feelings

Sept 27 Update: Magnifying Glass

{This post will make a lot more sense if you read the green parts in my last post}

Late last night, my gastroenterologist emailed me back; he said to stop the antibiotics and wanted to have a conversation about everything else I brought up, which will perhaps be tomorrow. I increased my probiotics yesterday, and today I have not taken any antibiotics.

I’m seeing an improvement already (slight but there) and if I continue on this track, then I was correct in my detective-work (see previous post), which suggested that my flare has been due mainly to an imbalance of bacteria.

It may be premature to say that I’m getting better already, but it makes so much sense. Plus, I hate to leave my readers thinking I’m backsliding when I’m starting to feel better! (Even if I get worse again, I’d rather leave you with good news than bad, for now.)

I’ve had so many ups and downs during this flare that it might seem naive for me to think that this time I’m really getting better, but it’s because I’ve had so many ups and downs that I feel like I’m closing in on what affects my digestive health. With each flare and each improvement and the changes that come before and after them, I can add to my catalog of data, and as that collection grows, there becomes a greater potential of finding patterns and correlations and such that have got to eventually tell me something. We don’t know the cause of colitis, but we do know that it’s not caused by random events like the color of your breakfast bowl or if you cross your right leg over your left instead of the other way around or Zeus playing IBD-roulette; it’s a little more sensical than that, even if it’s complex and different for every person.

Cheers to persistence.

When I do succeed, you can bet this quote will be my anthem.

3 comments on “Sept 27 Update: Magnifying Glass

  1. Gina
    September 27, 2012

    Thanks for reminding me about your blog. I am in total agreement with the whole imbalance of bacteria thing, was on 3 courses of antibiotics freshman year and my digestion has never been the same. On another note, your persistence is inspiring and I will soon actually be home when you are nearby!

    • clementineseason
      September 27, 2012

      Sounds great! And yes, bacteria bacteria bacteria. I’ve been taking probiotics all along, but I’m thinking not enough, for me. Antibiotics can help and hurt, and apparently we both learned. :/

  2. Tosha of Bottled Time
    October 23, 2012

    I love the Thomas Edison quote. Perfect blend of humor and encouragement that I needed to keep on keeping on. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 27, 2012 by in Health/Life Update and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

