Happy Colon

Gut Feelings

Sept 9 Update: Much Better

Last night and the night before, I woke up just twice to use the bathroom (remember, compared to 8 times)! Also, I haven’t been in and out of the bathroom in the mornings, and I haven’t had any pain or needed to use my hot water bottle on my stomach.

I’ve been on the antibiotics – Vanco and Cipro – for 4 days now.

I’m still seeing blood and having loose stools, but with the frequency decreasing so drastically, hopefully these will improve next. Actually, just by going less often, there’s less blood and diarrhea, because I’m not seeing more of each when I do go. And in fact, there does seem to be less blood per stool.

Today I’ve had more energy than I’ve had in a long time, but I am still certainly in need of a blood transfusion, which I’m excited is tomorrow. Then I’ll really be better off.

Today I started doing some homework. I’m taking three classes this semester (instead of the usual four): Sustainable Energy, GIS, and Probability and Engineering Economy. My first assignment for the energy class is to create a carbon calculator (such as the one found here), which is a neat assignment, but it will be time-consuming to gather all of the data I need. I emailed my professors (there are two for that class) to see if I can have an extension on this first assignment. In the email, I had to figure out how much information to give and how to word it well. It took me awhile, but I finally got it to where I wanted it, and now I’m waiting to hear back.

As I talked about in my last post, I’ve been eating differently. I can’t stand the thought of millet, quinoa, or oatmeal, so I’ve been eating soup with carrots and chicken in a homemade veggie broth, and have had gluten-free crackers on the side. I had one chicken sausage yesterday, and today, I had two poached eggs (with their yolks!) and a chicken sausage for breakfast. The sausages are actually really not that bad (see here for ingredients).

I realized something about how I’m eating: it’s remarkably similar to the intro stage of the Specific Carbohydrate Diet, the grain-free, sugar-free, and lactose-free diet I tried in 2009, which many people with Crohn’s or UC find help them a lot. In the intro stage, allowed foods are chicken/carrot soup, eggs, and yogurt. While I was on the intro stage of the diet, I didn’t use the bathroom for a few days! (After that, I went full force into the rest of the diet when I should have progressed more slowly, which might be part of why it didn’t work for me.) So the way I’m eating now is probably giving my gut quite a break, in addition to the help its already getting from the antibiotics. I’m not saying I want to go back on the Specific Carb Diet, but for now, I think the soup is really good for me.

I’ve also been digging into the Tzatziki we have in the fridge, which, like the chicken sausages, is not that bad! (No sour cream or a lot of other crap added, unlike some brands, although it does have a little sugar and some unspecified spices.) I still shouldn’t be eating it, but now that the antibiotics are helping me so much, I feel pretty justified to eat foods that are healthy, even if not legal by my diet. The less I’m flaring, the less strict I need to be. This is not to say I would go and buy yogurt or will make meals out of chicken sausages; I’m just enjoying these little cheats – a swipe or bite here or there.

What I really want is a grilled cheese sandwich or a pizza or ice cream, but those I will stay away from.

I should get back to my homework now…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 9, 2012 by in Health/Life Update and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

