Happy Colon

Gut Feelings

Cool Noodles with Garlic and Peas

We’re in the middle of a heat wave – this is day two of three of 95° (35°C) weather. Most of the meals I eat are eaten warm, but on a day like today, when I consider sprinklers a godsend rather than a waste of water, I need a cooler alternative. I also find that hot weather makes me crave a little variety in my food, so I addressed both of these needs with my dinner tonight. (Well, sort of. No millet or quinoa anyways!) I was inspired by a cold noodle soup that a friend of my family used to make for all of us when we went to the beach together.

Cool!

Ingredients:

  • Angel hair style brown rice noodles
  • Peas
  • Garlic
  • Ginger tea
  • Salt
  • Chicken broth
  • Boiled chicken

Directions:

1. Take these steps, in no particular order. Some might be better off to do several hours early so the food can cool off.

  • Make iced tea by steeping some sliced ginger in boiled water. Or for a stronger taste, simmer sliced ginger in water for a bit.
  • Boil some chicken and pull/cut bite-sized pieces of meat off the bone.
  • Rough chop garlic and add to a pot of water (or even better – chicken broth). Bring to a boil and add noodles. Cook as directed.
  • Cook peas.
  • Drain the noodles and peas. Rinse the noodles in cold water (as the box should say).

2. Cool everything; the noodles and peas can just be rinsed in cold water, but the tea and chicken (and the noodles and peas if you want) should sit in the fridge for several hours or overnight. I happened to have the chicken and tea in the fridge already, and I liked the combination of cold (refrigerated) and cool / luke warm (rinsed in cold water) foods. This was also perfect because I’m not supposed to eat or drink anything too cold.

3. Mix everything together, as much of each as you would like! Add more or less iced tea for a more or less soupy meal. I’m trying to avoid too much fiber, so I went light on the peas.

4. Add lots of salt! It will help replenish you with sodium on such a hot day, and it mimics soy sauce (which has tons of sodium), which would have been perfect with this meal.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 21, 2012 by in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

