Happy Colon

Gut Feelings

Butternut Squash Bread

There is something that looks like angel food cake on my counter. Supposedly, it’s a apple cake/bread, but I am reminded of the soft, airy yet rich cake that I haven’t had since I was really young. It was a dish that we only had on occasion and stopped making well before we became more food conscious, probably just because we forgot about it over time.

Because I was reminded of that delectable piece of heaven (pun intended) and because I was in a do-something mode, I decided to make a second attempt at baking under my restricted diet. The first attempt was a couple weeks ago, after a few more foods were added. I made a millet-banana cake (cake? bread?) that was tasty, but on the dry side, and I plan on adjusting that recipe before posting it here. This second attempt at baking was a wild success. The bread rose. The top broke as if I had made a muffin containing a leavening agent. I was giddy. The recipe is as simple as this:

Butternut Squash Bread

  • 1/4 of a baked butternut squash, mashed
  • optional: 3 dried dates, steamed and put through the food processor
  • 1 cup millet flour
  • 1 whole egg
  • 1 egg white
  • 1.5 tbsp honey
  • 2 pinches of salt

Beat all ingredients together. Pour into a loaf pan or muffin pans if you like. Sprinkle cinnamon on top. Bake at 375° for about 45 minutes.

Notes:

  • I actually just cut my dates up small since I didn’t feel like dirtying more dishes, but processing them would probably be better.
  • Not sure I noticed the flavor of the dates… I included them for their sweetness, but since I used honey anyways, they’re probably not necessary, unless you like dates and want to taste them, in which case you should use more than three.
  • Regarding the whole egg: I’m actually not eating yolks now but since I sometimes “accidentally” bite into the yolk of my hard-boiled eggs while eating the white and don’t have any reaction, then one yolk in a whole cake would be fine I figured, and it could really help out my bread. I also hate wasting food, even little yolks.
  • I would have put cinnamon in the batter, but I didn’t think of it until the batter was in the pan, so I just sprinkled it on top. Even if you do put cinnamon in the batter, though, (which I probably will do next time) sprinkle some on top – it looks really nice!

As you can see, this recipe is still somewhat in the works, but I was too excited not to post it right now. Oh and I forgot to mention, it tastes great too! Very squashy. Here are more pictures:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7 comments on “Butternut Squash Bread

  1. Anonymous
    March 19, 2012

    Yum! Looks almost like a custard.

  2. clementineseason
    March 19, 2012

    It is kind of custardy! More so than I’d like, maybe. Like I said, very squashy. Also squishy.

  3. Anonymous
    March 20, 2012

    nice… i think you need to start a little healthy diner’s in Groveland massachuchu…. !

  4. Anonymous
    March 20, 2012

    Bravo Roxanne…whatever you cook or eat looks delicioussssss,try more healthy recipes and gather them in a cook book…
    Nora

  5. Neck Pain Relief
    March 24, 2012

    I can not thank you adequately for the posts on your web site. I know you’d put a lot of time and effort into them and hope you know how much I appreciate it. I hope I’ll do exactly the same for someone else at some point.
    My blog is about Back Pain Relief.

  6. Comprar enlaces en foros
    April 5, 2012

    Thank you for you engaging, informative material. I believe many of the views you have mentioned in your article are sound and unique. It’s obvious you are a talented writer.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 19, 2012 by in Recipes and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

