Happy Colon

Gut Feelings

Butternut Squash Penne

Penne with Butternut Squash

My first recipe post in awhile! I’m so sick of talking about colonoscopies. Please don’t mention those to me unless it’s in the form of a joke.

My herbalist/acupuncturist recently allowed some new foods, including oatmeal (gluten-free), carrots, butternut squash, kale, quinoa, apples, cinnamon, garlic, and basil. I’ve eaten them all by now, some more than others. For breakfast, I’m now having oatmeal with cinnamon and chopped apples and bananas, plus an egg white either before, during, or after this. I love having a breakfast that’s actually a breakfast; before, I was eating millet and chicken, just like every other meal of the day.

Two of my aunts were with me in the supermarket when we bought my new foods, and we did not pick one of those pre-cut squashes. One of my aunts picked the finest-looking, largest squash, which my other aunt drew a face on once we were back home. (I love my family.) I didn’t cook the squash for almost a week out of intimidation. I wondered if I should cook half and save the rest, or cook it all and use it for different purposes, and I found a bunch of recipes, but would I have too much squash or not enough? I let these questions stew while I continued to eat my usual foods, sans squash. But everyday, I looked at it and it looked at me, and finally I had my dad cut it open with one of our knives in the set that is kept in a leather case, the knives that are used for special occasions or special squashes.

Eat me.

Off with the ends! Chop it in half, and then into quarters! I scooped out the seeds and put them in tupperware for later use. And I decided to bake all of the squash. I used a large stainless steel pan with a rack that stands about an inch from the bottom, which was perfect because all of my searches of “how to cook squash” told me to fill the pan with about an inch of water, and this way the squash will not soak. I began cooking at 350° without aluminum foil, which wasn’t working; the squash browned but did not cook through. Under recommendation from my mother we covered it in foil. I assume the recipes I looked up told me to do that and I just didn’t notice, because it is a necessity. And why else would the water help? I should have known.

That's a whole lotta squash

Saving seeds for roasting or toasting later. You know you're an amateur photographer when you can't for the life of you stop yourself from causing a shadow in the corner of the photo.

Anyways, after the squash was done, I cut it into thick slices and then took the skin off with a paring knife. It was an excellent choice to save this task for post-bake, because the skin practically fell off of the soft inside. I put the squash in the fridge since it was late by now, and then next day I began my foray into squashhood.

I first used some of the squash to make soup, which needs improvement, so I will post about that later. Some of it I am saving for this recipe for my parents, which I’m going to make tomorrow. Tonight, I diced some of the squash for the following recipe:

Butternut Squash Penne

  • Diced butternut squash (baked)
  • Rice penne (cooked)
  • Parsley
  • Ginger (grated)
  • A small amount of butternut squash soup, as a sauce

I couldn’t tell you the amounts of each. I just made it all look balanced.

Just mix all ingredients, add a bit of water, and heat together for a few minutes! Maybe next time I’ll put some slices of ginger into the penne while it’s cooking so it will infuse. That’s how I’ve been cooking my millet batches lately, rather than adding it to each individual meal when I reheat them.

It tasted pretty good, although it would have been incredible with shredded parmesan cheese.

I’m going in for seconds now.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 11, 2012 by in Recipes and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

