Happy Colon

Gut Feelings

Salsa

Tortilla chip in half-eaten salsa

Lately, we’ve had chips in the house, some bags that we’ve bought and some that guests have brought over that were never finished. And there’s always that jar of Newman’s Own salsa that’s open in the fridge just staring at me. I’ve been strict to my diet, but one day, after breakfast when no one was home to make me feel more guilty, I sat on the floor of the kitchen and ate tortilla chips and salsa. The crunch and flavor of the chips was just right, and I didn’t feel terrible about eating these because they break the no-corn rule but no others, and corn isn’t the worst thing I could eat. The salsa, however, was spicy, had actual corn kernels in them, and even had some sugar, so I was a little more upset about eating that. Fortunately, I knew I could make my own salsa that’s less spicy and just as delicious, without the stuff I shouldn’t have, and that’s what this recipe is for. I continue to eat the tortilla chips – I can’t stop and can’t replicate them! And I haven’t noticed any adverse effects, so I feel okay about the addiction. Plus, if I look forward to food, I’ll eat more, which is a very good thing.

Ingredients

  • 3 tomatoes
  • 1 small pepper
  • 1 onion
  • 1 or 2 garlic cloves
  • a chunk of pineapple
  • black and red pepper

Put the tomatoes, pepper, and onion in boiling water and take them out once they’re really soft. Take the skins off the tomatoes and mash them up. Cut the pepper, onion, and (raw) garlic into tiny pieces and add to the tomatoes. Cook on the stove for awhile with a small amount of black and red pepper and then add tiny pieces of pineapple at some point. The pineapple adds a surprise sweetness that complements the spiciness of the black and red pepper really nicely.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 5, 2011 by in Recipes and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

