Happy Colon

Gut Feelings

READ LABELS!

I’ve been really diligent with reading labels, and most of what I buy is either a whole food or something made with very few ingredients, but somehow a couple staples of mine went under the radar. Almond Breeze, the almond milk we buy, has evaporated cane juice and carrageenan. I’m avoiding sugar in all of its forms, so the cane juice is reason enough to find an alternative almond milk brand, and as for carrageenan…well, I didn’t know what that was but had recently heard that it might not be good, so I went to Dr. Andrew Weil’s website for more information. In his Q&A section, I discovered that this additive could be associated with both cancer and ulcerations in the digestive tract. Oops. I guess I’m in the market for a different almond milk brand, or I’ll be making it myself.

The other thing is, my Glutino crackers have corn starch, and I’ve been avoiding all corn products. Fortunately there are plenty of other options available for GF crackers. Recently, I bought Sesmark rice thins, which taste even better than the Glutino crackers.

I should really just make my own crackers, though, and I’ll definitely be trying this recipe for Rosemary Fig crackers from Elana’s Pantry soon. I can’t get over how great this blog is. (Her blog, not mine, but I think mine is pretty great too)

One comment on “READ LABELS!

  1. Ben
    August 19, 2011

    I’m so glad I asked to try the milk so we could see the label!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 18, 2011 by in IBD Resources and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

