Happy Colon

Gut Feelings

Avocado Salad

I needed to use an avocado. I’m not a huge avocado fan, but they’re growing on me, and I’m still looking for ingredients that are high in calories, a quality that avocados have, relative to other fruits. (Although fortunately, I’ve finally started to gain back weight.) We had put the avocado we bought in a brown paper bag to ripen, and yesterday, the bag was opened and I saw that I needed to use the semi-squishy avocado as soon as possible if I wanted to use it for a salad and not guacamole. The salad is quite guac-inspired, though. In fact, if the avocado was mashed and everything was cut smaller, I would call it guacamole.

Avocado Salad

In this salad are: an avocado, a tomato, half a cucumber, half a red onion, half a red pepper, some black olives, 2 bunches of cilantro, and two scallions. More or less. I also used olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

First I cut the red onion and red pepper and sauteed them in olive oil, and once they were softened, I added balsamic vinegar and let them marinate while I chopped the rest of the veggies. Once the rest of the veggies were chopped, I mixed them with the marinated veggies and voila! A salad. For a sandwich, put on some toasted gluten-free bread with hummus and turkey cold cuts. yumyumyum.

4 comments on “Avocado Salad

  1. Anonymous
    July 26, 2011

    Hi Roxanne, it’s Auntie Barbara. Wanted to tell you I’ve put your avacado salad recipe in the family cookbook I’m making… hopefully I will have it finished by Christmas.

  2. John Meuse
    July 26, 2011

    Rox…Sounds delicious except for the “red” onions. Have you ever tried Vidalias?
    http://www.vidaliaonion.org/

  3. Anonymous
    July 27, 2011

    Sounds delish!

  4. Anonymous
    July 30, 2011

    Morning Rox…. Try growing mint, it’s grows really well in Montara.
    Auntie Barbara

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 21, 2011 by in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

