Happy Colon

Gut Feelings

Sweet Potato Madelines

P1030698

I am so excited about these. They are delicious. You should really try them.

The story behind them: I saw a homemade loaf of gluten-free bread in my local natural foods store with an ingredient list that included sweet potato, and a bulb lit up over my head. I had done a lot of baking with butternut squash last spring, but sweet potato would be even better, I thought! Sweeter, thicker – I couldn’t wait to try. This was the same day I bought a couple gluten-free flours, but it took a few more days for the new inspiration and materials to lead to any action. I guess I was waiting for a recipe to fall from the sky, or at least a wizard would stop by and tell me if I was supposed to make bread or muffins or pancakes or what, but once I realized that these events weren’t going to happen, I stopped wasting time and started mixing ingredients.

I didn’t make much batter since I was afraid of using up too much of my new flours on an inedible creation, so when it came to choosing a baking platform – muffin tin, loaf pan, etc – I chose my madeline pan, which has twelve shallow shell-shaped spaces, and bonus: it’s non-stick. This pan ended up being the right decision, because not only was there a perfect amount of batter to fill the spaces, but I loved the way they turned out; perhaps there was a wizard with me all along…

P1030684

When I nervously bit into one once they seemed to be done baking, I wouldn’t say I fell in love at first bite, but I liked them quite a lot. They had a cakey consistency and just the right amount of sweetness, they weren’t too floury or too sweet potato-y, and the crustier surface area to cakier inside ratio was just right (though I think these would have made good muffins too).  I ate six of them that night, and finished the other half dozen the next day. I made another batch yesterday, and now I really am in love with them!

They are not quite like the buttery, sugary, traditional Madelines that my friend’s mom made for us years ago, with a sprinkling of powdered sugar, but I’m not sure a substitute friendly to Roxanne’s colon could please Roxanne’s taste buds much more than these. Plus, they look beautiful. Thank you Claudia for the pan!

Sweet Potato Madelines

Ingredients

  • 1 cup mashed cooked sweet potato (about one potato)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup gluten-free flour(s) – I used 1/4 cup millet flour (cheapest) and 1/4 cup brown rice flour (to mix it up)
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tbsp water
  • 1tbsp blackstrap molasses
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1-2 tbsp tiny apple pieces (optional)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 375°F. Mix all ingredients (probably best to mix dry and wet ingredients separately, but they turned out fine just by throwing everything together). Don’t be grossed out by the color the  molasses makes them. Pour into a madeline pan. Bake for 20-25 minutes.

P1030704

5 comments on “Sweet Potato Madelines

  1. blackbirdspaces
    March 22, 2013

    oh my goodness this looks delicious. will be making these soon!!

    • Rox
      March 22, 2013

      thank you! I hope you enjoy them as much as I am!

  2. Barbie Walsh
    March 22, 2013

    Can we make these for Easter?

    • Rox
      March 22, 2013

      planning on it!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 21, 2013 by in Recipes and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

