Happy Colon

Gut Feelings

RepairVite Detox Protocol

As I mentioned in my last post, I’m starting a new dietary regimen – the RepairVite Detoxification Protocol. The purpose of it is to reduce inflammation in the intestines. Before this, I was already off of sugars (sugar, honey, molasses, etc), gluten, dairy (except for yogurt), soy products, and alcohol. These are all restrictions on the RepairVite program too, in addition to high-glycemic fruits (pineapple, mango, raisins, etc), grains (rice, quinoa, oats, etc), dairy (no yogurt or eggs anymore), and lectins (nuts, beans, soy, and nightshade vegetables – tomatoes, potatoes, peppers, and eggplant). When I first read about my new restrictions, I was bummed about not being able to eat eggs or oats anymore, as those are my breakfast, either separate or together. Avoiding yogurt won’t be as difficult since I can buy or make coconut yogurt (which I’ve never had…if I don’t like it I’d better get used to it!). Not being able to have nuts is another blow – I was getting excited to bake with almond flour.

So what can I eat now? I can still have vegetables (except for nightshades and mushrooms), meat, fish, low-glycemic fruits, coconut (oil, milk, etc), herbal tea, and fermented foods (kimchi, sauerkraut, pickled ginger, kombucha tea, etc). Herbs, spices, and olive oil are also okay.

We went on an expedition to Whole Foods to buy some of these things which Market Basket doesn’t provide, like coconut milk and sugar-free kimchi. I also bought some vegetables we don’t usually have in the house, like artichoke and radishes. Variety will keep me content while on this diet.

Today I had leftover hamburger (grass-fed, hormone-free, from a local farm, etc) and green beans for breakfast, as well as some things I won’t be able to have once I officially start the program – cottage cheese and almond bread. I’m trying to finish off things in my fridge that I won’t be able to have soon. Everything else I’ve eaten today follows the program: For a snack, I had sliced cucumbers with olive oil, lemon juice, and dillweed.

Recipe

For lunch I mixed tuna with chopped grapes, black olives, celery, celery leaves, olive oil, and lemon juice. I also added herbs de Provence but I’m not sure if that really went with the meal or if I even tasted the herbs. Delicious, anyways. There were so many different flavors!

Once I receive the RepairVite supplement, I’ll go 100% with the RepairVite diet, but until then, I have some mango slices and almond bread to finish.

7 comments on “RepairVite Detox Protocol

  1. John Francis Miller
    January 11, 2013

    Hello,

    How did this work out? My wife is about to start on it and is overwhelmed especially because nearly all the vegetables we get from our vegetable garden are on the forbidden list.

    Thanks

    • Rox
      January 11, 2013

      I was on it for almost two months, but I don’t remember it making much of a difference, if any. I think my flare was beyond the help that this diet could give. I hope your wife sees improvement from it, though. One thing that might help keep her from being too overwhelmed is knowing that the diet is only temporary. I remember my nutritionist saying 1-3 months, which in the long run is not so bad.

    • Doreen DeVore
      January 26, 2013

      I did the Repairvite diet for 14 days in the early fall of 2011 prior to treatment for parasites. I was overwhelmed thinking about it and gradually switched over my diet to it and finished off foods that I had on hand. It wasn’t as hard as I thought that it would be. I then added in foods one a time over about 3 months to search for allergies. It was very tedious and time consuming. I felt like I spent much of my time in the kitchen. However, it was worth it because I now have a list of foods my body likes (meat, non starchy veges, low glycemic fruit) and list of foods my body does not like (primarily gluten and even Gluten free carbs make me gain weight.) There is a new food list which now contains some fresh herbs, so that should make it easier. I could only use sea salt, onions, garlic, apple cider vinegar and fresh lemon and lime juice which was very boring. I remember rejoicing when I was able to add pepper to my cucumbers and onions. I am about to embark on another Repairvite period to unhook my body from the overindulgence of sweets and GF carbs over the holidays. I am finding lots of good recipe ideas on online.

      • Jenny Hockenberry
        April 21, 2013

        What sites at you finding recipient ideas on? I just started today and am freaking out a little. I cannot have any ferment e food a I have a yeast intolerance and I dont like seafood and have not had red meat in years! Does anyone else think th powder is really hard to swallow? Yuck!!!

  2. Jenny Hockenberry
    April 21, 2013

    Recipe ideas. Autocorrect!

    • Doreen DeVore
      April 25, 2013

      Unfortunately when I saved my recipes- I did not cite all the websites. I think that I searched for Repairvite recipes and found several. One website I did cite was Caveman Goumet, but since you don’t eat red meat that will not be helpful. I had to eat at least 5-6 times a day when on Repairvite. (yes it does taste yukky.) and I was eating meat at least 3 times a day. It seems like it set my metabolism up. The first I had no appetite so I did Repairvite for 2 weeks with few problems, but the last 2 times I’ve tried it- I’ve been lucky to stay on it for 3 days because I get so hungry.

  3. Doreen DeVore
    April 25, 2013

    Baked salmon with asparagus & roasted beets
    Beets and asparagus are two vegetables that go wonderfully well with salmon and that tend to be forgotten in our day to day meals. This simple dish can of course be prepared with any fresh fish and vegetables. This recipe serves 4 people.
    Ingredients
    • 4 fresh “wild caught” salmon fillets;
    • 4 tbsp olive or coconut oil;
    • 4 tsp chopped dill;
    • 16 sprigs of fresh asparagus, hard base
    removed;
    • 4 medium red beets, cut in cubes;
    • Salt and pepper to taste;
    Preparation
    1. Preheat your oven to 500 F.
    2. Line four large pieces of foil and place a salmon fillet on a bed of beet cubes and 4 asparagus. Do that for the 4 fillets.
    3. Add 1 tbsp of butter (substitute for Repairvite) and 1 tsp dill on top of each fillet and close the foil to form a little pocket.
    4. Bake in hot oven for about 10 minutes for each inch of thickness of the fish.
    5. Make sure to check on the fish so it doesn’t get overcooked.
    6. Serve topped with some more of your favorite fresh herbs. More dill is perfect, but cilantro is also really good.

    Don’t remember which website I found this on.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 3, 2011 by in Health/Life Update, Recipes and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

